What a pitch!

5 Mar

If there’s one part of my job that I really love, it’s pitching. I love the competitiveness, the excitement of the unknown and the opportunity to prove to a client that your ideas are something really special.

I’ve not always loved pitching, and I do definitely think that there is a skill to it that comes with experience and time. I’m also in way an expert, and have only just started doing them in the last few years, but once you’ve done it a few times and once you learn techniques to make them successful then it becomes one of the best parts of a job.

People in so many different industries have to pitch and I don’t know many people that enjoy it. It can be an unbearable and stressful situation, so I thought I’d share a few tips that could help, and suggestions to assist make it not only pleasant, but really really fun!

  • If you’re going be the main person speaking at a meeting or pitch and you’re presenting a document, make sure you put it together yourself and you know the project inside out. A client can spot someone who has no idea what they’re taking about from a mile off, so know your stuff!
  • Adapt the situation to the ‘demographic’ of who’ll be in the meeting. For example, make it slightly light-hearted if you know it’s going to a group of younger people, and more professional and official if they’re older. Look the part as well. Dress up smart no matter who you’re meeting – make a good impression!
  • Pitches can be so monotonous for clients that have tendered out to other people; and they’ve probably seen a lot of pitches that day, so make yours stand out by being approachable, honest and genuine.
  • It’s ok to get nervous. I always get nervous. Just remember to breathe! If there’s one thing I always do, is I try to talk too quickly and actually forget to breathe. It’s something I’m always conscious of, but just take deep breaths and remember the people in the room with you are just people!
  • If you don’t know the answer to a question don’t make up the answer. Say you’ll look into it and you’ll let them know after the presentation.
  • Lastly, be yourself! Be lively and chatty, but also professional. At most pitches I’ve done I’ve been told so many times afterwards that I come across as amazingly passionate about my job. Because I am! I always try and project my love and adoration for my job to other people that I will potentially work for, so they know my dedication to their project. That’s so important and can definitely help sway a client towards your business.

So there you have it! Hope this helps!!

 

Leave a Reply

