Video

I want Candy…… Anthony!

16 Aug

When I first moved to London I remember going for interviews all over London trying to find the offices of various places to beg for a job. Getting lost left right and centre in a new city seemed so exciting back then. Especially the day when I had an interview in Southwark and stumbled across the Candy Anthony store in the Oxo Tower.

Candy Anthony is the epitome of stunning vintage style dresses made to measure. Their selection of 1950’s and 1960’s ballgowns with petticoats, bridesmaids, prom, evening dresses and corsets are divine to a new level.

Their boutique in London’s Oxo Tower Wharf opened in 2004, where British fashion designer Candy Anthony and Italian brand designer Alex Di Silvestro, launched a fun and colourful range of tea length, bridal and evening gowns all inspired by the ‘High Society’ of the 1950’s and 60’s.

These just aren’t your average ‘retro’ dresses. These are original and wonderfully wearable gowns of excellent workmanship, designed with artful flattery, distinctive in cut and fit, with seductive neck and hemlines and made of fine fabrics in splendid colours, putting superior quality at the forefront. Their dresses are made by a small UK based team of loyal, trained and highly skilled design and style consultants, cutters and seamstresses, and they try where possible to use UK sourced fabrics and trimmings.

I’ve adored these dresses since I stumbled upon the store. I’ve loved vintage glamour and style ever since my uncle caught me wearing baggy jeans/Green Day t shirts in my teens and sat me down, made me watch breakfast at Tiffany’s 1000 times, played me Swing records from the 1940’s and showed me photos of beautiful 1940’s and 1950’s movie stars.

I WILL get married in Candy Anthony. There’s no doubt about that.

I’m sure my uncle would have approved.

2 Responses to “I want Candy…… Anthony!”

  1. The Exhibition List August 17, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    AMAZING

  2. traditionis November 9, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    Very beautiful dresses!WHAT A PITY THAT I ALREADY MARRIED! hahaha.

Leave a Reply

