Events Industry Professionals Interview Season on I Love Events…..

30 Jun

I’m very lucky to know that I, 100%, love what I do for a living.

I am fully aware that others don’t have that luxury, and a lot of people end up studying something that they change their mind about, or they want to get into an industry is notoriously difficult to break into (a prime example being the Events industry). Most graduates or newbies have to start from the bottom, slowly work their way up, and also wade their way through thousands of competitors.

The first step into any industry is always the hardest; not only do you have to work for so long for no or little wages, but I do think that it’s hard to know exactly what area of an industry you want to work in straight away. To dedicate yourself (for free or next to nothing) for such a long period of time, one would think you’d be 100% certain that what you’re doing is the first step to a long term goal, but alas that’s often not the case.

So, over the next few weeks, in ode to all students that have finished (or are about to finish) their year of study, I will be interviewing a variety of different people that work in the events industry from all levels. My aim is to show the variety of types of roles there are, and to show what type of qualifications or experience they have had to get to their position.

I also want to offer my help and advice to any people graduating now and looking to start in the Events industry. Please get in touch by leaving a comment with any questions, and keep an eye on the interviews section on I Love Events for further information!

4 Responses to “Events Industry Professionals Interview Season on I Love Events…..”

  1. Museum of Alcohol June 30, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

    It’ll be intriguing to see the variety of roles in events, its such a broad industry. Certainly when I was at school it would never have come up as a job in the careers advice we got. So what a great idea to share your wisdom…

  2. Coconu Lubricant September 19, 2013 at 6:01 am #

    Admiring the persistence you put into your blog and detailed information you provide.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

    • iloveeventslondon September 20, 2013 at 8:26 am #

      Thanks very much for your comment! It’s great to know that you appreciate the content on I Love Events.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Interview with Francesca Stracqualursi, Events Manager at the Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising | - July 11, 2013

    […] mentioned in my previous post, the goal of these interviews is to educate newcomers to the industry on the different roles […]

Leave a Reply

