Hello Manchester!

2 May

Regular readers will know I’m not one to stay in one place for a long time. My recent venture has been to Manchester, the largest city in the North West of England. I’ve been here for 3 months now and, so far, can say it’s one of my favourite places I’ve ever lived.

The quality of life here is much better than anywhere else I’ve ever lived. General living costs way less, the people are friendlier (by far!!) and there’s a more serene, laid back way to exist here. No rushing, no rat race, just nice people and cheap food and drink.

So you can tell I’m sold! And will be here for the foreseeable future. So to start off my new life in Manchester, I thought I’d tell you my favourite places, activities and what I’ve been doing since I got here….

1. THE NORTHERN QUARTER. It’s my new home. I absolutely LOVE the Northern Quarter. It’s full of vibrancy and friendly people, as well as amazing coffee shops, bars, vintage shops, record stores, the lot. My newest favourite haunts have been Home Sweet Home (for lunch, dinner and cake), Bonbon Boutique (for hot chocolate and general delicious treats), Terrace (for Aspall cider – my favourite), Sugar Junction (for brunching and afternoon tea), Soup Kitchen (for beers and man watching 🙂 ) and Band on the Wall (for beers and live music)

2. FLECKY BENNETT’S MANCHESTER GHOST WALK. Took part in this last week and it was so much fun! Flecky Bennett is a fantastic host and took us on a 90 min walk around Manchester teaching us all about it’s ghostly history. It was a great way to learn about key buildings in the city, and get some cool facts and also feed my weirdo interest for ghostly things – all for only £11.25.  Flecky also hosts Manchester’s underground tunnel tour where multiple ghost sightings have happened!! I’m going on that one next! You can learn more and book here.

3. MANCHESTER ART GALLERY. Not only free to get in, but filled with a vast selection of art works ranging from wild and beautiful contemporary pieces to Dutch 17th century paintings that tell incredible stories. The gallery is also hosting Joana Vasconcelos’ Time Exhibition installation at the moment, which costs an additional £7.50 – her large scale sculptures are incredible, and world renown. A lovely way to spend a rainy afternoon – and trust me – there are many many rainy afternoons in Manchester!!

4. DUNHAM MASSEY. Just a short drive outside of Manchester City Centre, Dunham Massey is a beautiful Georgian house with 3,000 acres of surrounding estate that is now owned by the National Trust. Built around 1730, the house was owned by various Earls until during the first World War, the current estate manager (Lady Penelope Stamford), transformed the house into Stamford Military Hospital, caring for over 300 injured soldiers. The house is currently set up to look how it would if while it was a hospital and tells the amazing stories of some of their patients and staff. The surrounding estate is beautiful for an afternoon walk, and full of super cute deer as well!

Am absolutely loving Manchester and really looking forward to settling down and staying here for a while. I’ll be starting at a new Events Agency in Liverpool next week, so will keep updating my blog with more information on my work, and cool events in the area 🙂 Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

